

Communiqué

First IGF General Assembly,

Tunis, March 30th, 2013

In accordance with the outcomes of the second phase of the World Summit of the Information Society (WSIS) held in Tunis in 2005, especially those of paragraphs 73 to 79 relating to the Agenda of Tunis 2005 and as a result of the work of the Constituting Commission of the Tunisian National IGF created during the founding meeting held in Tunis on September 4^{th} , 2012, the first General Assembly of the Tunisian National Internet Governance Forum (IGF – TN) took place on March, 30^{th} , 2012 and gathered more than 100 participants representing all ICT sectors.

The meeting was publicly announced and was opened to all interested persons. Mr. Kamel Saadaoui, the President of the National Telecommunications Regulatory Authority (Instance Nationale des Télécommunications, INT) made an opening speech through which he focused on the importance of a good Internet governance in a world characterized by the dominance of Internet use and a growing number of Internet users and traffic exchanged in general.

He also indicated that a good governance of Internet is not limited to questions related to naming and addressing but extends also to the concepts of use such as SPAM, cyber security, contents development etc.

The Meeting's work was organized in two plenary sessions:

The first session of the meeting was devoted to the presentation of the terms of reference of the Tunisian National Internet Governance Forum prepared by the constituting commission including:

- The fundamental principles of the National Internet Governance Forum,
- The participation in the National Internet Governance Forum,
- The national IGF General Assembly (content of the meeting and frequency of holding),
- The role of the Multi-stakeholder Advisory Group (MAG),
- The mandate period and election modalities of the MAG,
- The role of the permanent secretariat of the IGF TN.



The constituting commission of the IGF – TN was made up by:

- Mr Ridha Guellouz (MTIC), Coordinator of the National IGF,
- Ms. Bayarassou Dhouha (Ministry of Regional Development and Planning)
- Mr Marouen Hamza (Orange Tunisia)
- Mr Anwar Jendoubi (Tunisiana)
- Mr Mustapha Ben Jemaa (Apsit)
- Mr Amin Achour (Globalnet)
- Mr Faouzi Zarbib (R2i)
- Mr Mahdi Fermi (TT Topnet group)
- Mr Nabil Jemli (University)

The second part of the meeting was devoted to the election of the MAG constituted, according to the terms of reference, of 13 members: 12 elected (3 representing the public sector, 3 representing the private sector, 3 representing civil society and 3 representing academic and university institutions) and one appointed by the President of the INT representing the permanent secretariat of the IGF.

In response to the call for participation publicly announced on the IGF website (www.igf.tn) and in national newspapers, 61 applications were received. Sorting these nominations resulted in the selection of 17 applications and the refusal of 44 considered incomplete. This preliminary analysis of applications and the counting of the ballots were conducted by a neutral and independent electoral office composed as follows:

- Mr Raouf Chkir (former advisor in the Information and Communication Ministry and Former CEO of Tunisie Télécom)
- Mrs Asma Belltaifa (University)
- Mr Naoufel Frikha (ANSI)
- Mr Khalil Charfi (Netissime)

The 17 candidates for election to the MAG had the opportunity to present themselves one by one in the second part of the general assembly of the IGF Tunisia. For academic and university sector, the minimum number of three candidates has not been reached (only two candidates were selected), so, the electoral office decided to restrict the composition of the MAG to 12 members (11 elected and 1 appointed). The final composition of the MAG of the IGF – TN is as follows:

Members representing the public sector:

www.igf.tn

- Mrs Wafa Dahmani (Tunisian Internet Agency)
- Mr Fayçal Bayouli (Ministry of Information Technology and Communication)



- Mr Zied Rouissi (CIFODECOM)

Members representing the private sector:

- Mr Khaled Koubaa (Google)
- Mr Mohamed Garbouj (SCET Tunisia)
- Mr Nafaa Laribi (Cabinet & Faleh Laribi-Lawyers)

Members representing the university and academic institutions:

- Mr Farouk Kamoun (SESAME University)
- Mr Nebil Jemli (ISET Kairouan)

Members representing civil society:

- Mr Atef Loukil (ISOC Tunisia)
- Mr Adel Alaya (Tech4Dev)
- Mr Ridha Guellouz (ATTIC)

Member representing the permanent secretariat:

- Miss Sihem Trabelsi (INT, Instance Nationale des Télécommunications).